Past Presidents Scholarship

Women in Film & Video DCPast Presidents Scholarship

For Mid-Career Mediamakers

The WIFV Past Presidents Scholarship for Mid-Career Mediamakers*, enables WIFV-member filmmakers, at least 10 years beyond their last degree and with a desire for additional study, to continue their professional development with coursework at The Workshops in Rockport, Maine.  Applicants must have at least 12 years experience as a media professional. The 2024 application deadline is June 17, 2024The required application cover form is here.  The required essay about why you should receive the scholarship, links to work samples, and references are uploaded to that form as well.

The Maine Media Workshops of Rockport, Maine and WIFV partner to provide the WIFV Past Presidents Scholarship for Mid-Career Mediamakers. The Workshops generously match WIFV’s contribution by donating fees and services. The scholarship, which totals up to $2,500 in funds and fee waivers, allows the winner to experience one of the nation’s premier film, video and digital educational programs with tuition, accommodation, and travel support.

The WIFV Past Presidents Scholarship for Mid-Career Mediamakers Committee selects the winner from a competitive group of submissions. The committee, which is comprised of WIFV Past Presidents, selects the candidate who most exemplifies the qualities of creative excellence, a thirst for knowledge, and the passion for bringing important stories to life through the media experience.  Past scholarship recipients include Jordana Wells, Susan Kehoe, Hilarey Kirsner Leonard, Mary C. Stephens, Erica Ginsberg, Judy Cohall, Leola Calzolai-Stewart, Julie Rios Little, Niyati Shah, Kiley Kraskouskas, Kim Merritt, Karen Kasmauski, Kathryn Pasternak, Carolyn McCulley, Krystal Tingle, Bonnie Rich, Susan Donnelly, Amy Oden, Jody Hassett Sanchez, Toni George, and Natasha Klauss Soleiman.

WIFV extends its gratitude to the WIFV Past Presidents who fund the Scholarship and to The Maine Media Workshops for their support.

For more information about the scholarship or to make a donation, call Melissa Houghton at 202-429-9438.

*This scholarship was originally established as the Randy Goldman Scholarship for Mid-Career Professionals.  Ms. Goldman was the 1985-87 WIFV President.  This scholarship continues to reflect her creative vision, passion for education, and commitment to the larger film community that is exemplified by all the WIFV Past Presidents.