News & Notes

Excitement is Brewing for Women of Vision 2012

Yolanda R. Arrington, Co-Chair, Women of Vision 2012 and WIFV DC Board Member

Posted by Yolanda R. Arrington
Co-Chair, Women of Vision 2012

Next week, Women in Film & Video will honor four trailblazing women who have made their mark on the film industry when the organization hands out its annual Women of Vision Awards. From television to film and beyond, our distinguished honorees are moving mountains.

Take Shirin Ghareeb, who brings diversity to the landscape as the Director of the Arabian Sights Film Festival and Deputy Director of Filmfest DC. Margaret “Peggy” Parsons curates the film program at the National Gallery of Art. She brings a bit of culture to a city often mired in politics. And then there’s Christine Weber, who serves as the Vice President of Production for Specials at Discovery Channel. She’s responsible for keeping you glued to your television screens and educating you at the same time. And last, but not least, Agnieszka Holland is an Oscar-nominated director who’s mastered the big screen and network TV. Her vision helped bring the gritty streets of Baltimore to life on HBO’s “The Wire.” She’ll be staying in town to kick off the WIFTI Summit and ScriptDC conferences with a film screening of Europa, Europa at the DCJCC on Friday evening.

To help you start your weekend early, we’re hosting the Women of Vision Awards at the grand Mayflower Renaissance Hotel in Washington, DC. This is a big weekend for us and what better place to mark an historic moment than at the Mayflower. WTTG/Fox 5 Weather Anchor Gwen Tolbart will be our emcee for the evening and there’s still time to grab a seat at our table. Visit for information. We’ll see you there.


Paige Gold, Co-Chair of Women of Vision 2012, is joined by Yolanda R. Arrington as a Co-Chair this year. Both women are on the Board of Directors for WIFV DC. The WIFV Women of Vision Awards celebrate women’s creative and technical achievements in media. WIFV Executive Members nominate women for these awards annually.

News & Notes Categories