The WIFV Women of Vision Awards celebrate women’s creative and technical achievements in media. WIFV Executive Members nominate women for these awards.  We are delighted and honored to recognize these trail blazers!

WIFV was honored to present the Women of Vision Award to Chrisine Vachon on Wednesday, September 28, 2016. 


Christine Vachon is a storyteller, producer, author, and co-founder of Killer Films.  She has produced award-winning films and television programming such as the Academy Award-nominated CAROL (Todd Haynes, 2015), STILL ALICE (Richard Glatzer and Wash Westmoreland, 2014), MILDRED PIERCE (Todd Haynes, 2011), THEN SHE FOUND ME (Helen Hunt, 2007), HEDWIG AND THE ANGRY INCH (John Cameron Mitchell, 2001), BOYS DON’T CRY (Kimberly Peirce, 1999), and many, many more.

With more than 100 producing credits to her name, Vachon has an eclectic resume. While she may be best known for her groundbreaking efforts in Queer Cinema, her work engages a range of topics and audiences. Such engagement has to do with communicating and sharing experiences. As Vachon put it during her South By Southwest 2015 Keynote Address, “I keep trying to train myself to stop saying ‘filmmaker’ and start saying ‘storyteller.’ We’re telling stories.” To do so with films and television also involves finding creative ways to put artists together, to fund and distribute their projects, and to make the entrepreneurial process progressive as a means to forge communities.

Women of Vision Award Recipients

Joan Darling
Dawn Porter
Moderator: Elizabeth Blair

Penny Marshall
“Penny Marshall Charms Avalon audience” in dc outlook – Read the article here.  See some of the photos here.

Shirin Ghareeb
Agnieszka Holland
Margaret Parsons
Christine Weber
Emcee:  Gwen Tolbart

Maryanne Culpepper
Cecilia Domeyko
Mickey Green
Laura Possessky
Emcee: Cynne Simpson

Patricia Aufderheide
Grace Guggenheim
Connie Day-McClinton
Emcee: Maureen Bunyan

Constance Chatfield-Taylor
Sharon Sloane
Sheila Smith

Patty Duke
Heidi Ewing and Rachel Grady
Susan Lacy
Linda Maslow
Emcee: Maureen Bunyan

Susie Coelho
Patricia Finneran
Barbara Kopple
Deborah Redmond
Andrea Sims
Emcee: Andrea Pennington, MD

Diana Ingraham
Beth Mendelson
Laureen Ong
Nina Gilden Seavey
Daphne Maxwell Reid
Emcee: Eun Yang

Stephanie Antosca
Jennifer Cortner
Carrie Fisher
Carol Flaisher
Brooke Bailey Johnson
Emcee: Lark McCarthy

Lynda Carter
Phylis Geller
Jennifer Lawson
Penny Lee
Congresswoman Louise Slaughter
Emcee: Doris McMillon

Ruby Dee
Amy DeLouise
Ricki Green
Sharon Percy Rockefeller
Carole Simpson
Emcee: Pat Lawson Muse

Debra L. Lee
Rosemary Reed
Catherine Wyler
Emcee: Maureen Bunyan

Jean Picker-Firstenberg
Aviva Kempner
Sharon Stone
Aida Takla-O’Reilly
Emcee: Carole Simpson

Tipper Gore
Gwen Ifill
Wendie Malick
Judith McHale
Roseanne Barr
Bonnie Nelson Schwartz
Emcee: Renee Poussaint

Sheila Brooks
Tyne Daly
J.C. Hayward
Tippi Hedren
Linda Ross
Emcee: Maureen Bunyan

Sandy Cannon-Brown
Linda Ellerbee
Robin Smith
Susan Smith
Mary Steenburgen
Emcee: Rosemary Reed

Ruth Pollak
Renee Poussaint
Cicely Tyson
Marilyn Weiner
Nancy Woodhull
Emcee: Judy Carter

Maureen Bunyan
Michal Carr
Lee Grant
Sherry Jones
Emcee: Carole Simpson

Kathy Bates
Elizabeth Campbell
Judith Dwan Hallet
Ruth Roland
Lesley Stahl
Emcee: Andrea Roane

Ginny Durrin
Elise Reeder
Nina Rosenblum
Emcee: Susan King